Pictures for a Paris apartment

5 May

 Image

I visited Paris just before Christmas 2012 and had a great time eating and browsing at Merci (see previous post!) and wandering the streets in the bright, cold sunshine. I also made sure I managed to fit in a quick trip to a gem of a market – the Puces de Vanves.

Here I found some lovely new stock which I packed up in my case ready for framing back at TDP headquarters.

I stayed in a cute little apartment in the 5th arrondissement near to the Sorbonne. It belongs to a friend’s dad and, as a thank you for letting me stay, I mounted and sent him one of the images I’d found – a Citroen car advert from 1927. I had noticed that there weren’t many pictures up on the flats’ walls and I hoped it might be something he’d appreciate, for the design as well as the French vocabulary!

With a little bit of serendipity, it seems that it was just what he’d been looking for and he and his partner recently came to my studio to see what other pictures they might want to buy. They ended up being the proud owners of 5 more gorgeous black and white, art deco adverts and intend to make a striking feature wall, or two, in the apartment!

Here are the pictures they chose – I think they’ll work really well together;

 ImageImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

the leeds citizen

Just another Leeds blog

The Window Display Blog

Images and words on the best displays around London

WALLS

by nicneu studio

The Daily Informant

Bringing you the latest news, before it happens!

We Heart Vintage blog: retro fashion, cinema and photography

Vintage fashion, photography and cinema from the 1920s through to the 1970s and beyond

Messy Nessy Chic

Original vintage art for design lovers

Happy Being Busy

Tips, tools & treats for busy women

